1. Forums
  2. General
  3. Programming for CloudLinux
  1. Peter Dow
  2. Wednesday, January 04, 2012
  3.  Subscribe via email
I'd like to diagnose my website's higher memory usage problem. A log file of webpage memory usage would be useful.
Rate this post:
  1. 04.01.2012 18:01:30
  2. # 1
Peter Dow Accepted Answer
Hi Newbie here.

I have an account with a reseller host and fr om the looks of my cPanel pages, cPanel has a Memory Usage Limit feature provided by your (CloudLinux) plug in to cPanel.

I have tracked you down fr om this page on the cPanel website.

This is a screen shot of cPanel - Resource Usage showing the memory faults being generated with a MEMORY Limit / LMEM of 700 MB.

Now, I have pointed out to the reseller and he in turn has contact his ISP hosting package provider quoting fr om that page and commenting as follows.

"VIRTUAL MEMORY Limit controls the total amount of virtual memory available for applications running within an account. By default, each customer is limited to :!: 1GB :!: of virtual memory. If a user application tries to use more than that such application will fail, as it hasn't been able to allocate memory. This usually shows up as error 500 (Internal Server Error) in a visitor’s browser.
The memory limit is the sum of virtual memory used by all applications in the account. It is important to note that we are limiting virtual, not physical memory. Multiple processes often share physical memory but don't share virtual memory. As a result you need to allocate much more virtual memory than physical memory. This is why it is important to leave virtual memory limits high enough."

My emphasis of 1GB or 1024MB presumably, which is significantly more than they had me on initially - 500MB and still more than I am on now 700MB. Seems to me there is evidence for saying - "at least give my users the default of 1024MB."

"Adjusting Limits