Do I need to change the default settings?
Forum
  1. Forums
  2. General
  3. General Discussion
  1. Sam London
  2. Wednesday, 15 July 2015
  3.  Subscribe via email
default settings
Rate this post:
  1. 15.07.2015 15:07:54
  2. # 1
Sam London Accepted Answer
Posts: 7
Joined: 15.07.2015
0
Votes
Undo
I am a web designer and had CL installed on my server along with CageFS a few weeks ago. The server contains about 100 small low-traffic web sites, plus 5-10 larger, busy ones. Clients don't want or have access to Cpanel. Most sites are Wordpress.

The primary reason was (a) for server security and (b) to create a fairer system to prevent the busy sites hogging server resources to detriment of smaller ones.

I haven't changed any of the default settings below 

CPU usage (SPEED) 100
Virtual Memory (vMEM) 1024  
Physical memory (pMEM) 1024
Concurrent connections (EP) 20
Number of processes (nPROC) 100
I/O limit (IO) 1024
Number of inodes (soft|hard) 0 0

I have received several notifications re "Hosting account resources exceeded" for the busy sites but, tbh, I don't really know what of these to change, or what levels to change to. Checking stats, about 10 of the larger sites have hit all max levels about once each day (maybe that's acceptable?) 

If appropriate, I was thinking of having two levels of settings, one for small sites and one for large sites. Can anyone give me any guidance what settings to use for the busier sites? 

My server is a Quad Core 3.10GHz (8MB Cache) with 8.0GB DDR3 1333MHz Memory.

Thanks.
  1. 21.07.2015 09:07:34
  2. # 2
Bogdan Accepted Answer
Posts: 709
Joined: 26.06.2013
0
Votes
Undo
Sam, default settings are good, you can keep using them. Just set vmem to 0 (it better to use pmem instead).

CloudLinux was specially designed to limit user to appropriate values, so receiving some few notifications about resources exceeded is normal and really means CL works as it shoult. However as you are the only one who manage websites on this server and you know your setup then definitely you may consider increasing some values. First take what is actually \'failing\' with:
lveinfo --by-fault any --period=1d

Then consider increasing it.

Also, it\'s really reasonable to create second plan with increased values for bigger websites, in most cases you need to increase CPU to 150 , pmem to 1.5G and EP to 30.
  1. 21.07.2015 09:07:21
  2. # 3
Sam London Accepted Answer
Posts: 7
Joined: 15.07.2015
0
Votes
Undo
Thank you, Bogdan.  :)
  • Page :
  • 1


There are no replies made for this post yet.
Be one of the first to reply to this post!
Guest
Submit Your Response
Upload files or images for this discussion by clicking on the upload button below. Supports gif,jpg,png,zip,rar,pdf
• Insert • Remove Upload Files (Maximum File Size: 2 MB)
Captcha
To protect the site from bots and unauthorized scripts, we require that you enter the captcha codes below before posting your question.