what version am i running and how do i upgrade
Forum
  1. Forums
  2. General
  3. General Discussion
  1. John MacKenzie
  2. Wednesday, 04 January 2012
  3.  Subscribe via email
just curious seems like I am running an older version (just fyi also have ksplice) but when i run yum update, it says nothing needs updating here is my output

[[email protected]] ~ >> uname -r
2.6.18-338.9.1.el5.lve0.8.32
[[email protected]] ~ >> uptrack-uname -r
2.6.18-374.3.1.el5.lve0.8.44

yum upd ate
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, rhnplugin
Repository dag is listed more than once in the configuration
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
* cloudlinux-x86_64-server-5: xmlrpc.cln.cloudlinux.com
Excluding Packages in global exclude list
Finished
Reducing Dag ClamAV RPM to included packages only
Finished
Se tting up Update Process
No Packages marked for Update


How do i make sure i am updated to the latest version?

Thanks
Rate this post:
  1. 04.01.2012 13:01:40
  2. # 1
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
You are running lve0.8.36 feature wise, and lve 0.8.44 security wise.
To update to latest kernel version, check your /etc/yum.conf
Remove kernel* from exclude line
Run:
yum update kernel

reboot.
It is also possible that you already have latest kernel installed, and just need to reboot. To do that -- run rpm -qa|grep kernel
See if lve0.8.44 kernel is installed (you can also check /boot/grub/grub.conf)
  1. 06.01.2012 11:01:26
  2. # 2
John MacKenzie Accepted Answer
Posts: 14
Joined: 02.04.2011
0
Votes
Undo
Igor,

ok yes looks like a reboot solved this. So first, is ksplice actually worth running then if it doesn\'t really update things properly?

second, when i view my OS in WHM it says i am running CLOUDLINUX 5.7

how do i update to the new 6.X version?

Thanks
John
  1. 06.01.2012 12:01:52
  2. # 3
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
I think ksplice worth it, though it depends...
If you need latest features, like ability to change number of cores on the fly, or cagefs3 -- you would have to reboot.
Yet, I still have lots of customers running lve0.7.49 kernel from more then a year go, perfectly safe from security perspective due to ksplice, and they didn\'t rebooted once since then. I think I have seen someone on even older kernels.
So, if you don\'t really need latest features, and uptime is critical -- ksplice is a must.
If you think that rebooting once or twice a month is ok -- you should be fine without ksplice.

Regarding upgrade to CL 6 -- it is not possible https://helpdesk.cloudlinux.com/index.php?/Knowledgebase/Article/View/74/0/how-to-upgrade-from-cloudlinux-5x-to-cloudlinux-6x
BUT: We will soon add ability to run CL6 kernel on CL5, which should be close to same thing for many hosts.
  1. 06.01.2012 14:01:46
  2. # 4
John MacKenzie Accepted Answer
Posts: 14
Joined: 02.04.2011
0
Votes
Undo
oh i see the versions are based on the centos rhel version numbers so basically it involves upgrading the whole server software. boy that sounds like trouble in the making!

is there any real reason to try and upgrade to rhel 6?

also do you keep updating the 5.X stream as well?

thanks
John
  1. 06.01.2012 14:01:07
  2. # 5
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
No, you can upgrade the same way to CL6 -- I am was just showing the approach. It is exactly the same.
And yes, we will continue updating 5.x
  1. 22.04.2012 00:04:23
  2. # 6
John MacKenzie Accepted Answer
Posts: 14
Joined: 02.04.2011
0
Votes
Undo
Igor,

ok another issue on upgrading, Ive run yum update kernel

rebooted twice and still see this that I am using 8.5.4?? any ideas? see below

uname -r
2.6.18-374.12.1.el5.lve0.8.54
[@] ~ >> uptrack-uname -r
2.6.18-408.el5.lve0.8.58
[@] ~ >> rpm -qa|grep kernel
kernel-devel-2.6.18-374.12.1.el5.lve0.8.54
kernel-headers-2.6.18-408.el5.lve0.8.58
kernel-2.6.18-374.12.1.el5.lve0.8.54
kernel-devel-2.6.18-374.18.1.el5.lve0.8.57
kernel-2.6.18-374.3.1.el5.lve0.8.44
kernel-devel-2.6.18-408.el5.lve0.8.58
kernel-2.6.18-408.el5.lve0.8.58

the grub file shows 8.54 and 8.44 lines in it, nothing about 8.58?


Thanks
John
  1. 24.04.2012 19:04:08
  2. # 7
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
try doing yum update kernel
  1. 24.04.2012 19:04:35
  2. # 8
John MacKenzie Accepted Answer
Posts: 14
Joined: 02.04.2011
0
Votes
Undo
I did that as i mentioned, it went through and said it upgraded it but after reboot, these are the results i get.

other thoughts?
  1. 24.04.2012 19:04:06
  2. # 9
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
Try re-installing the package. If it doesn\'t work -- I guess the thing to do is to edit grub.conf by hand. Sometimes is the only way to do it.
  1. 24.04.2012 19:04:43
  2. # 10
John MacKenzie Accepted Answer
Posts: 14
Joined: 02.04.2011
0
Votes
Undo
Igor,

would you mind telling me how to reinstall a package OR how to edit grub correctly??

Thanks
John
  1. 24.04.2012 19:04:42
  2. # 11
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
Re-installing package:
rpm -e kernel-2.6.18-408.el5.lve0.8.58 --nodeps
yum update kernel

Editing kernel -- it would better if you contact our support and we would do it for you. It just to easy to make mistake.
Yet, overall, make a copy of the topmost kernel entry in /boot/grub/grub.conf
Change filename for kernel & initrd to the versions that have lve0.8.58 in it (find actual file names, as it will be different)
  1. 24.04.2012 22:04:25
  2. # 12
John MacKenzie Accepted Answer
Posts: 14
Joined: 02.04.2011
0
Votes
Undo
igor thanks,

removing then reinstalling did the trick

Thanks
John
  • Page :
  • 1


There are no replies made for this post yet.
Be one of the first to reply to this post!
Guest
Submit Your Response
Upload files or images for this discussion by clicking on the upload button below. Supports gif,jpg,png,zip,rar,pdf
• Insert • Remove Upload Files (Maximum File Size: 2 MB)
Captcha
To protect the site from bots and unauthorized scripts, we require that you enter the captcha codes below before posting your question.