Limit CPU and
Forum
  1. Forums
  2. General
  3. General Discussion
  1. Mahmood Adam
  2. Friday, 26 August 2011
  3.  Subscribe via email
Hello.

I have dedicated server has 4 cores with H/Y so 8 is total but physically 4 cores.

I think giving each account 25 is too high as i am hosting more then 100 sites on this server so what you suggest for me then?

Because what i know is 25x8 cores = he is getting 200% which means 25% of total server is my calculation right?

So if i set 2 for each this means 2x8 = 16 which 16% of entire server will be for each?

Do you recommend me to do that?

Number of Cores Per LVE*: 1 , Is recommended?

Regarding to Concurrent Connections , is this for saving traffic? and 20 means what exactly !!

Thank :)
Rate this post:
  1. 26.08.2011 08:08:15
  2. # 1
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
I would suggest to keep default limits. Because ncpu=1 setings will be in effect, the limit will actually be just 12% of total (system picks smallest of ncpu & cpu).
And 25% is of total server power, not single core.

concurrent connections is the number of concurrent connections to php/cgi scripts for the site.
  1. 26.08.2011 12:08:45
  2. # 2
Mahmood Adam Accepted Answer
Posts: 3
Joined: 26.08.2011
0
Votes
Undo
Hello.

How 1 will be in effect? If higher value given then the users will use more CPU usage !!
  1. 26.08.2011 13:08:14
  2. # 3
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
Yes, if you increase ncpu above 1, user will be able to use more cores.
  1. 26.08.2011 14:08:21
  2. # 4
Mahmood Adam Accepted Answer
Posts: 3
Joined: 26.08.2011
0
Votes
Undo
I want give him as low as i can how much shall i set? 0.5 ?? What you recommend?
  1. 26.08.2011 14:08:43
  2. # 5
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
You cannot set fractions. The minimal limit is cpu=1
Though, the site will crawl if you do that.
  1. 26.08.2011 15:08:23
  2. # 6
Maciej Wójcikowski Accepted Answer
Posts: 12
Joined: 10.08.2010
0
Votes
Undo
I believe that if you set your cpu limits too low then your load could jump very high...
  1. 26.08.2011 15:08:53
  2. # 7
Mahmood Adam Accepted Answer
Posts: 3
Joined: 26.08.2011
0
Votes
Undo
Keeping value high will make load jump high as well

Then what is the job of cloudlinux?
  1. 26.08.2011 15:08:58
  2. # 8
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
The job of cloudlinux is to limit user to meaningful limits.
Not to prevent his processes from running by setting very low limits.
The limits are top limits, not guaranteed resources. And default limits are well optimized for servers running 10 to 5000 customers.
  1. 27.08.2011 12:08:28
  2. # 9
Gary Brooks Accepted Answer
Posts: 5
Joined: 20.11.2010
0
Votes
Undo
We use the CPU limits in our plans. Be careful not to set the limits to low but don\'t be afraid to share. Its very rare that more then 1 site will be using all the juice you give them.

You are pooling resources so you have room to play. CloudLinux does a great job of giving you the tools you need to measure a vhost usage. I suggest you setup your node and then run a loadimpact.com test against each vhost to identify if you have created your vhost setup properly.

Cloud Linux work great for our company. We can easily host 8,000 vhost on a 24 disk jbod and 12 cores.

http://www.cloudaccess.net/pricing.html << look at how we sell our services using CloudLinux.

Gary Brooks
  • Page :
  • 1


There are no replies made for this post yet.
Be one of the first to reply to this post!
Guest
Submit Your Response
Upload files or images for this discussion by clicking on the upload button below. Supports gif,jpg,png,zip,rar,pdf
• Insert • Remove Upload Files (Maximum File Size: 2 MB)
Captcha
To protect the site from bots and unauthorized scripts, we require that you enter the captcha codes below before posting your question.