OptimumCache with a large amount of ram ?
Forum
  1. Forums
  2. CloudLinux and Control Panels
  3. CloudLinux and cPanel
  1. Richard Hordern
  2. Sunday, 14 June 2015
  3.  Subscribe via email
Hello,

Do you have any customers who are using optimum cache on servers with a large amount of ram ?

Our servers currently have 256 GB of ram and about 180 GB is file system cache.

Before we go into the investment of adding 2x300 GB SSD's to put into a Raid 0 I would like to try and find out if our server would benefit from it as alot of the files are already stored in memory.

Igor, have you had any experience with the cache drive crashing ? If our Raid hardware removed one of the two SSD's would it just completly crash our server or just revert back to using the original files without the ploop image ?

Thanks.
Rate this post:
  1. 14.06.2015 10:06:35
  2. # 1
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
Yes, we specifically tested cache drive crashing -- it is non issue (beyond system stopping to use OptimumCache)
  1. 14.06.2015 10:06:30
  2. # 2
Richard Hordern Accepted Answer
Posts: 219
Joined: 19.03.2011
0
Votes
Undo
Do you have any suggestions about what the optimum cache drive space could be for a shared server with 4 TB of used disk space and 256 GB of ram ?

Does 600 GB sound enough or should we aim at more ?

Thanks
  1. 14.06.2015 11:06:11
  2. # 3
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
The size of OptimumCache is based on RAM - we typically recommend anywhere from 0.75 to 2x the amount of RAM on the server.

Also, monitor syslog for messages like:

 “OptimumCache recommends cache storage size to be at least … GB” -> the system will report needed size as it collects more info.
  • Page :
  • 1


There are no replies made for this post yet.
Be one of the first to reply to this post!
Guest
Submit Your Response
Upload files or images for this discussion by clicking on the upload button below. Supports gif,jpg,png,zip,rar,pdf
• Insert • Remove Upload Files (Maximum File Size: 2 MB)
Captcha
To protect the site from bots and unauthorized scripts, we require that you enter the captcha codes below before posting your question.