memory usage presentation
Forum
  1. Forums
  2. CloudLinux and Control Panels
  3. CloudLinux and cPanel
  1. Viktoras Angelopoulos
  2. Monday, 09 May 2011
  3.  Subscribe via email
Hello,

We\'re new to cloudlinux and these last days i was checking about the plugins for LVE.

Regarding the end-user plugin, i\'d love if the memory usage was presented like the CPU usage so the user cannot see the actual limit as i believe that could be misleading ( e.g. \"server only has 512MB/1GB/XY ram?!\" )

I was wondering if that could be done by tweaking the plugin interface but in that case wouldn\'t the changes overwritten by a future update?
Rate this post:
  1. 09.05.2011 11:05:43
  2. # 1
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
Doing something like that would require patching perl code, and it would get overwritten by next update.
  1. 09.05.2011 16:05:11
  2. # 2
Posts: 5
Joined: 08.05.2011
0
Votes
Undo
Is there any way that this would be considered a future feature?
  1. 11.05.2011 09:05:18
  2. # 3
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
Sure. I just need to figure out that it is actually needed / get more people asking for it.
  1. 12.05.2011 15:05:42
  2. # 4
patrick sanders Accepted Answer
Posts: 2
Joined: 12.05.2011
0
Votes
Undo
@Op I think a percent based limit could indeed remove the discussion over how much ram you provide to the client, but not letting them know might also trigger the clients to ask how much they really get. Maybe it should be a choice to the server owner which one he would like to show to his clients.

@Igor You say this script would be automatically overwritten, would it not be possible to simply run the postupcp script to fix this? assuming and assuming the \'updates\' you talk about are coming from the yum updates ran in the upcp script from cpanel and there will not be many updates to this plugin ?
  1. 12.05.2011 15:05:53
  2. # 5
Igor Seletskiy Accepted Answer
Posts: 1200
Joined: 09.02.2010
0
Votes
Undo
There will be updates to the plugin, it will just come from cPanel.
And yes, you can put up a script in postupcp to run a patch each time cPanel updates.
  1. 03.06.2011 04:06:03
  2. # 6
Rudi Accepted Answer
Posts: 5
Joined: 03.06.2011
0
Votes
Undo
I would prefer not to have this feature added. We don\'t oversell and we don\'t like to lie to our clients about our servers RAM
  1. 18.06.2011 21:06:51
  2. # 7
Posts: 5
Joined: 08.05.2011
0
Votes
Undo
Rudi wrote:
I would prefer not to have this feature added. We don\'t oversell and we don\'t like to lie to our clients about our servers RAM


As the topic starter, i must clarify something: This has nothing to do with overselling. To me, this would be ideal for shared hosting customers where the RAM is of course NOT guaranteed as it\'s a ....shared environment.

And as i mentioned before this could raise questions and support tickets over a thing that a shared hosting client shouldn\'t worry.
Example: a web hoster having very high limits ( loose ) - a client could question if the RAM limit is the total memory of the server.

I pretty much find Patrick\'s suggestion ideal, to be able to choose how the limits and usage would be represented to the cPanel plugin ( raw numbers / percentage )
  1. 20.06.2011 12:06:25
  2. # 8
Jon Tolzien Accepted Answer
Posts: 5
Joined: 20.06.2011
0
Votes
Undo
I agree entirely. I would really like the percentage. Or even raw numbers / percentage / disable.
  • Page :
  • 1


There are no replies made for this post yet.
Be one of the first to reply to this post!
Guest
Submit Your Response
Upload files or images for this discussion by clicking on the upload button below. Supports gif,jpg,png,zip,rar,pdf
• Insert • Remove Upload Files (Maximum File Size: 2 MB)
Captcha
To protect the site from bots and unauthorized scripts, we require that you enter the captcha codes below before posting your question.